People tell me i'm good, but i feel like it's complicated

A lot of people always tell me that I'm a really good person, that i have quite high standards for myself. I do happen to have these quite standards, but it's because i want to be a actually good person, and i don't think that i'm being one right now, nor ever was one at any point.

I'm there for those in need, especially those close to me, try to help everyone as i can, am not someone to take advantage of situations fot my own benefit and i try my best to speak against injustice...... but i feel like that's what every person should do in general, and me doing these things doesn't make me suddenly a good person.

In fact I've got a lot of baggage from my past and even my present that can get quite complicated, and i happen to be really flawed in general just like anyone else. Yet I'm worshiped just for... doing what every person should do.

Some reasons why i feel like why i'm not enough

It feels kinda embarassing honestly when those close of me tell me that they're genuinely proud of how i am because:

  • Sure i guess that i'm nice but that doesn't stop me for being a fucking failure in general especially in this world that forces me to comply with certain bullshit, although to be fair almost all of that is garbage
  • I used to be a nasty piece of shit years ago, i feel really regretful and wish i could have grown as a person earlier in general. There's a part of me that still fears people will hate me for what i used to be in the past, no matter how much I've changed. However, a lot of people have changed over the years in general, and I've known people who used to be quite nasty become really sweet and nice as the time went by.
  • There are people who did way more direct action than myself. To be fair i don't have any real opportunity to do these kind of things due to the complex situation I'm on, but i just wish that i wasn't so useless.

Apparently it's normal to be cruel :/

Thinking about how it's pretty much normalized and encouraged for people to be cruel against each other, and how i'm actually an exception to the rule (at least most of the time) doesn't make me feel proud at all. It instead makes me feel worried about how the world and the societies we are surrounded with encourage that shit in general.

How it is normal to be cruel, to hurt each other just to compete or to get to a goal, or to turn a blind eye to injustice... even outright crimes against humanity.
Sorry for the heavy topic today, and sorry if i sounded really pretentious and weird. I just kinda wanted to say how i felt about this in general and how it relates to what people said about myself and all.